Skip to main content

The New York Times via ProQuest: The New York Times Online

The New York Times 

Clarkson University has digital access to The New York Times via ProQuest Central.

If you have any questions about accessing articles from The New York Times not answered by this guide, please contact the library at (315) 268-2292 or refdesk@clarkson.edu.

Image result for the new york times logo

Finding an Article via ProQuest

The New York Times is an internationally recognized daily newspaper. The ProQuest database includes full text coverage of the online The New York Times back to March 2015 and The New York Times (International edition) back to August 1992. We may also have older issues of The New York Times available on Microfilm; please contact refdesk@clarkson.edu for assistance or search our catalog

Step 1: Navigate to our homepage


Step 2: Click the Databases tab. 


 

Step 3: Search for ProQuest.


 

Step 4: Select ProQuest Central.


 

Step 5: Click the Publications tab.

Step 6: Search for New York Times

Step 7: Click on the edition of The New York Times you are interested in. For current coverage, click on New York Times (online). 

Step 8: Search for an article by title, or browse by clicking the year, month, and then date you are interested in. 

Step 8: Click on the date you want to view, and you'll see a list of articles from that date. Click on one to view the full text. You may also save the article as a PDF, print, or email it. 

Email Alerts

ProQuest allows you to set up email alerts (or RSS feeds) so you can receive the newest full text New York Times articles conveniently to your inbox!

Step 1: Click the "My Research and Language Selection" button in the upper right hand corner of ProQuest. 

Step 2: Click "Sign into My Research" 

Step 3: Click "Create a My Research Account" (or login if you have an account)

Step 4: Create an account. (Skip this step if you already have an account.) 

Step 5: Click "Go to My Research" (Skip this step if you already have an account.) 

Step 6: From the New York Times (online) publication page, click "Create Alert" 

Step 7: Set your preferences. Click "Create Alert"

Step 8: You should receive a confirmation.