Skip to main content

Health Sciences Library: Tutorials

Health Sciences Library

Health Sciences Library

PubMed

A free resource that provides access to MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine and health sciences. 

Cochrane Library

A collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. It provides up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care and evidence to support decision-making in health care. Search for systematic reviews, protocols, trials, methods studies, and more. 

Get Help searching Cochrane using MeSH terms

CINAHL 

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature - a key database for finding literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. CINAHL indexes articles from over 2900 journals, health care books, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice. 

MeSH 

  • Medical Subject Headings
  • the U.S. National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary (thesaurus)
  • a vocabulary that gives uniformity and consistency to the indexing and cataloging of biomedical literature

Use MeSH terms to enhance your searches in PubMed, Cochrane, and CINAHL to focus on finding relevant evidence-based research citations.

UpToDate

A clinical reference tool that provides current options for diagnosis, therapy, and treatment at the point of patient care. Includes drug efficacy, doses, and interactions as well as screening and prevention strategies.​

UpToDate can be accessed from any computer on campus without registering. For off campus access it is necessary to register an account. This must be done while on campus (from a Clarkson  IP address). Click "Register" located in the top navigation bar of the UpToDate page and complete the required information, creating a user name and password. A confirmation email will be sent to you with information about the UpToDate mobile app. In order to maintain access you must re-verify your Clarkson affiliation once every 90 days. Do this by logging in to UpToDate on a campus computer.

How to . . .

(short video tutorials)
 

Know the Science!
Make sense of health research and understand the basics of scientific studies.

EBM Resources

Evidence based medicine is the conscientious, explicit, and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of idividual patients.   (Sackett, et al. BMJ 1996;312:71-71)